KBTS History
The origin of the Korean Brain Tumor Society dates back to the founding of the Korean Brain Tumor Research Group (KBTRG). Twenty-one delegates from the nationwide university hospitals formed the core of the preparatory committee of the KBTRG, which was established in May 1991. The inaugural meeting of the KBTRG was held in Seoul on July 4th, 1991, and Professor Kil Soo Choi of Seoul National University was appointed as the first president. Since then, the KBTRG has organized annual meetings and scientific conferences. The Postgraduate Course for Brain Tumor has been held annually since 1993. Also, The Brain Tumor Case Conference, starting from 1997, has been held four times a year.

In 1999, the KBTRG changed its name to the Korean Brain Tumor Society (KBTS). The first issue of ‘Journal of Korean Brain Tumor Society’ was published as an official journal in March 2002. The international scientific meeting was held in order to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the founding of the KBTS on June 9th, 2002. The second meeting of the Asian Society for Neuro-Oncology, held in Seoul, was organized by the KBTS in December 2003.

The KBTS became a member of the Korean Academy of Medical Sciences in February 2007, and the first Korea-China Brain Tumor Congress was held in Harbin, China in July in the same year. The 7th meeting of Asian Society for Neuro-Oncology was held once again in Seoul in June 2010. The official journal of the KBTS was reestablished as ‘Brain Tumor Research and Treatment (BTRT)’ in order to expand the both area of clinical studies and basic researches in 2011.

Currently, the Korean Brain Tumor Society is a scientific association with over 400 members and holds academic meetings and case conferences on a regular basis. The KBTS is dedicated to advancing the neurosurgical treatments of brain tumors through the ways such as basic and clinical researches, state-of-the-art neurosurgical techniques, and multicenter clinical trials.

Past Presidents
Year Name Position
1991 - 1993 Gil Soo Choi Seoul National University
1993 - 1994 Chungjin Hwang University of Ulsan
1994 - 1995 Sam-Suk Kang Chonnam National University
1995 - 1996 Young Soo Ha Kwandong University
1996 - 1997 Yeun Mook Park Kyungpook National University
1997 - 1998 Jong Hyun Kim Sungkyunkwan University
1998 - 1999 Moon Chan Kim Catholic University
1999 - 2000 Hyung-Dong Kim Dong-A University
2000 - 2001 Sang Keun Park Inje University
2001 - 2002 Suck-Jun Oh Hanyang University
2002 - 2003 Hee-Won Jung Seoul National University
2003 - 2005 Kyung Gi Cho Ajou University
2005 - 2006 Sang-Won Lee Catholic University
2006 - 2007 Tae-Sung Kim Kyung Hee University
2007 - 2008 Young-Cho Koh Konkuk University
2008 - 2009 Chul Ku Jung Konyang University
2009 - 2010 Tae Young Kim Wonkwang University
2010 - 2011 Yong Ku Chung Korea University
2011 - 2012 Yong-Kil Hong Catholic University
2012 - 2013 Oh-Lyong Kim Yeungnam University
2013 - 2014 Chang-Jin Kim University of Ulsan
2014 - 2015 Choong Hyun, Kim Hanyang University
2015 - 2016 Chang Hoon, Rhee Korea Cancer Center Hospital
2016 - 2017 Sun Il, Lee Inje University
2017 - 2018 Shin, Jung Chonnam University
Copyright(C) The Korean Brain Tumor Society. All Rights Reserved.
서울 서초구 서초동 1678-2번지 동아빌라트 2타운 407호
Tel) 02-523-6811   Fax) 02-523-6812   E-mail) koreabraintumor@gmail.com